Yannick adds sermon to Beethoven symphonies

A forthcoming concert on the Philadelphia Orchestra website:

Yannick Nézet-Séguin Conductor
Davóne Tines Bass-baritone

Various Sermon
I. “Shake the Heavens,” from El Niño (A Nativity Oratorio), by John Adams
II. “Vigil,” by Igee Dieudonné and Davóne Tines
III. “You Want the Truth, but You Don’t Want to Know,” from X: The Life and Times of Malcolm X, by Anthony Davis
Beethoven Symphony No. 2 (November 5 and 7)
Beethoven Symphony No. 8 (November 5 and 7)
Simon Fate Now Conquers (November 6)
Beethoven Symphony No. 7 (November 6)

In Sermon, bass-baritone and activist Davóne Tines performs contemporary works by John Adams and Anthony Davis, as well as “Vigil,” co-written by Igée Dieudonné and Tines and dedicated to the memory of Breonna Taylor. This modern masterpiece opens our continued celebration of Beethoven’s symphonies along with Carlos Simon’s Fate Now Conquers.


The post Yannick adds sermon to Beethoven symphonies appeared first on Slipped Disc.