Winners Announced for Dallas Symphony’s Lynn Harrell Concerto Competition


The Dallas Symphony Orchestra’s (DSO) Lynn Harrell Concerto Competition just celebrated its 21st edition at the Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center.

Established in 2001, the annual competition is open to young performers aged eight to 18 on violin, viola, cello, double bass, and piano, who live or go to school in Texas, Arkansas, Oklahoma, New Mexico, or Louisiana. 

Victoria Han, 11, from Frisco, Texas, took home first prize and a cash award of $5,000. She will perform her winning piece with the DSO as part of their annual Teen Concert on June 10, 2022. Han’s mentors have included Thomas Yee, Konstantyn Travinsky, Alex McDonald, and Marcy McDonald.

Second prize and $3,500 were awarded to Steven Lu, 16, from Plano, Texas, who won playing Julius Conus’s Violin Concerto in E minor. Lu’s mentors include Charles Krigbaum, Jan Mark Sloman, and Diane Kitzman.

Christian Luevano, 18, from Corinth, Texas, received third Prize and $2,000 for his interprettion of Andrés Martin’s Concerto for Double Bass. Luevano studied with Derek Weller and Gudrun Raschen, and currently studies with Jeff Bradetich. 



Honorable Mention and $500 were awarded to Ella Tran, 16, from Arlington, Texas, who played Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 3. Other finalists including violist Jacob Choi, violinist Lindsey Kim, and cellists Austin Topper and Danielle Yoon, were awarded $250 scholarships. 

The competition finalists were selected through recorded submissions which were screened by a committee of DSO musicians and music faculty from area universities. The jury included Jun Märkl, Aleksandr Snytkin, Jolyon Pegis, Joe Hubach, and Giyeon Yoon.

Past winners of the competition have gone on to study music at schools such as the Cleveland Institute of Music, Eastman School of Music, The Juilliard School, and the Peabody Institute.

The post Winners Announced for Dallas Symphony’s Lynn Harrell Concerto Competition appeared first on The World’s Leading Classical Music News Source. Est 2009..