Participants Announced for the Henryk Wieniawski Violin Competition


The 16th International Henryk Wieniawski Violin Competition had applicants from 224 violin players from 34 countries. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, each applicant had to submit recordings of four compositions for the preliminary selections. The Pre-Selection Jury included Chairman Augustin Dumay, Deputy Chairman Daniel Stabrawa, and Madeleine Carruzzo.

The competition will be held at Adam Mickiewicz University Auditorium in Poznań and opens on October 7 with a concert starring last edition’s winner Veriko Tchumburidze, the Warsaw Philharmonic, and conductor Andrzej Boreyko.

„On Andrzej Boreyko’s motion, we appended the programme with a piece by the Ukrainian composer Victoria Polevá as a sign of the Competition’s solidarity with the Ukrainian people so severely experienced by war and Russian occupation,” said Alina Kurczewska, Chair of Henryk Wieniawski Musical Society.

While the competition auditions will be held between October 8 and 20, the Gala and Prize-Winner Concert are scheduled for October 21 in Poznań.

Nine German, seven Polish, five American, four South Korean, three Chinese and three Japanese players, as well as violinists from Austria, the Netherlands, Belgium, France, Kazakhstan, and Switzerland will take part in the Wieniawski Competition.

The participants are as follows:

  • Phoenix Avalon, USA
  • Hana Chang, USA
  • Jane (Hyeonjin) Cho, South Korea
  • Larissa Cidlinsky, Germany
  • Hawijch Anna Elia Elders, the Netherlands
  • Klara Gronet, Poland
  • Natsuki Gunji, Germany
  • Xiang Han, China
  • Yiyang Hou, China
  • Sirena Huang, USA
  • Meruert Karmenova, Kazakhstan
  • Maya Alexandra Kasprzak, Japan / Germany / Poland
  • Sungmoon Kim, South Korea
  • Alexander Won-Ho Kim, South Korea / Germany
  • Judyta Kluza-Sporniak, Poland
  • Paul Kropfitsch, Austria
  • Miyeon Lee, Germany
  • Hao Li, China
  • Robert Łaguniak, Poland
  • Hina Maeda, Japan
  • Elias David Moncado, Germany
  • Wojciech Niedziółka, Poland
  • Sueye Park, South Korea
  • Tassilo Probst, Germany
  • Charlotte Spruit, the Netherlands
  • Karen Su, Belgium
  • Adam Suska, Poland
  • Sulamita Sara Ślubowska, Poland
  • Max Tan, USA
  • Belle Ting, Austria
  • Natsumi Tsuboi, Japan
  • Ayaka Uchio, Japan
  • Shihan Wang, Germany
  • Qingzhu Weng, Germany
  • Maya Madeleine Wichert, Germany
  • Katherine Woo, USA
  • Dayoon You, South Korea
  • Takako Yumiba, Germany
  • Eva Zavaro, France
  • Zhixin Zhang, Switzerland
  • Barbara Ewa Żołnierczyk, Poland


„After listening to the young violinists wishing to compete in the next Wieniawski Competition, it was hard not to be impressed by an exceptional overall level, and above all, by the appearance of some outstanding musical personalities and individualities,“ said Augustin Dumay, Chairman of the Jury. „The 2022 Wieniawski Competition will be exciting and captivating.”

Organized by Henryk Wieniawski Musical Society of Poznań in collaboration with the National Institute of Music and Dance, the event is co-funded by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage, with financial assistance from the Municipality of Poznań and Self-Government of the Province of Wielkopolska.

“Our Institute fosters development of artists, as well as promotes the legacy of Polish music,“ commented Katarzyna Meissner, Director of the National Institute of Music and Dance. „Occasions like these provide splendid opportunities to show the world what is best in Polish culture. Hence, it is with pride that we make our contribution to the organisation of such an excellent event, one that has already become part of Polish history.“

The post Participants Announced for the Henryk Wieniawski Violin Competition appeared first on The World’s Leading Classical Music News Source. Est 2009..