China International Music Competition Announces Candidates

China International Music Competition, alternatively known as the Global Music Education League Violin Competition (GMEL), officially announced the participants who have advanced into the Preliminary Round to compete in November, in Beijing.

The GMEL Violin Competition received applications from 13 countries and regions around the world, including China, Russia, the United States, Canada, Kazakhstan, Japan, Germany, South Korea, Hungary, Italy, and Latvia.

24 violinists were selected by a jury consisting of Bin Huang, chairman of the competition jury, and violinists Giovanni Angeleri, Zhiyong Liu and Keng-Yuen Tseng.

The violinists who advanced to the Preliminary Round are:

  1. Yurina Arai (Japan)
  2. Joshua Brown (U.S.A.)
  3. Angela Sin Ying Chan (China, Hong Kong)
  4. Elli Choi (U.S.A.)
  5. Jung Min Choi (South Korea)
  6. Elizaveta Glazunova (Russia)
  7. Risa Hokamura (Japan)
  8. Masha Lakisova (U.S.A.)
  9. SooBeen Lee (South Korea)
  10. Yiming Liu (China)
  11. Chaowen Luo (China)
  12. Hao Miao (China)
  13. Noelle Naito (U.S.A.)
  14. Yukari Ohno (Japan)
  15. Audrey Park (U.S.A.)
  16. Anna Savkina (Russia)
  17. Dongyoung Jake Shim (South Korea)
  18. Leonard Toschev (German)
  19. Xiyue Wu (China)
  20. Tianren Xie (China)
  21. He Xu (China)
  22. Muyan Yang (China)
  23. Juchao Zhao (China)
  24. Leonid Zhelezny (Russia)

The 24 competitors will perform a recital of no more than 30 minutes, including one unaccompanied work of Bach and one violin work both from the designated repertoire of the competition, as well as two caprices of Paganini.

12 competitors will then advance to the Semifinal Round and perform a recital of no more than 70 minutes, including a complete Beethoven sonata, a Romantic Period sonata, a medium virtuoso piece, and a Rondo by Sicong Ma.

At the First Phase of the Final Round, 6 violinists will be selected to play a Mozart violin concerto, after which, the competition will move from the Concert Hall of China Conservatory of Music to the National Center for the Performing Arts, and the three finalists will play one violin concerto of Beethoven, Brahms, Mendelssohn, Prokofiev, Sibelius or Tchaikovsky, to contend for the color of their medals.

The jury for the competition will comprise Bin Huang (Chairman), Giovanni Angeleri, Friedemann Eichhorn, Lorenz Nasturica-Herschcowici, Mariusz Patyra, Lucie Robert, Joel Smirnoff, Weidong Tong, and Pavel Vernikov.

The First Prize comprises USD $100,000, a Gold Medal, and three years of concert tours, while the Second Prize equals USD $ 65,000. The Third Prize winner will receive USD $ 30,000 and a Jade Medal. The remaining three non-medal finalists will each receive USD $ 5,000 each and a Diploma.

The post China International Music Competition Announces Candidates appeared first on World’s Leading Classical Music Platform.