Boston Landmarks Orchestra streams Joplin’s "Treemonisha Overture," Coleman’s "Umoja" & Scott’s "Startin’ Sumthin’" 7/15 7 PM ET

Scott Joplin

Valerie Coleman
Jeff Scott

Jun 29, 2020

Boston Landmarks Orchestra Announces Two Virtual Summer Concerts And Digital Events

Boston Landmarks Orchestra (LO) under the direction of Music Director Christopher Wilkins, and Co-Executive Directors Mary Deissler and Arthur Rishi, has announced the first events in a series of virtual programming this summer. Two free virtual concerts will be performed and streamed from Futura Productions in Roslindale on July 15 and 29, 2020 with small ensembles who will be socially distanced and wearing masks as their instruments allow. The organization will also continue the popular digital Interludes series with conversations and music, and a virtual Maestro Zone where people can learn conducting skills from Assistant Conductor Shuang Fan.


Links for the streaming concerts, Interludes series, and the virtual Maestro Zone may be found on the Landmarks Orchestra website:
Programming this summer celebrates the authentic musical and community partnerships Landmarks Orchestra has built over its 19-year history. The virtual concerts celebrate partnerships with Boston musicians and organizations such as Castle of our Skins. In recent years, the orchestra has become a leader in promoting accessibility and inclusiveness. The Breaking Down Barriers initiative-serving people who are blind, deaf, hard of hearing, and those limited in mobility-has earned the UP Designation from the Massachusetts Cultural Council, making Landmarks Orchestra one of the first orchestras to receive this distinction. The two virtual concerts will later be released in versions signed by American Sign Language (ASL) interpreters.

July 15, 2020 7:00-8:00pm ET | Live Stream


Boston Landmarks Orchestra, Christopher Wilkins, conductor
Hosted by Emmett G. Price III, Landmarks Orchestra Board of Advisors Member

Scott Joplin Treemonisha Overture, arr. Richard Benjamin
Aaron Copland Quiet City
Valerie Coleman Umoja
Jeff Scott Startin’ Sumthin’
Aaron Copland Appalachian Spring Suite (original version)

Two beloved works by composers from very different backgrounds-both unmistakably American-highlight the opening concert: Aaron Copland‘s Appalachian Spring and Scott Joplin‘s Treemonisha. The Americanness of these pieces comes from their fusion of New World tunes with classical style, and the vigor of their rooted-in-the-soil dance rhythms. Recent creations by two Black artists now at the forefront of American musical life, Valerie Coleman and Jeff Scott, swing with euphoric energy in the tradition of American eclecticism.

July 29, 2020 7:00-8:00pm ET | Streaming Video


Boston Landmarks Orchestra, Christopher Wilkins, conductor
Hosted by journalist Janet Wu
In partnership with Castle of our Skins

Aldemaro Romero Fuga con Pajarillo
David Baker Roots II: Boogie Woogie
Florence Price ‘Clementine’ and ‘Shortnin’ Bread’ from Five Folksongs in Counterpoint
Michael Abels Delights and Dances
Astor Piazzolla ‘Spring’ and ‘Summer’ from The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires arr. Leonid Desyatnikov
Gabriela Díaz, violin